fbpx

Professional Development Series: Dialogue with Professor Kathy Sylva OBE

event-sylvia

Prof Kathy Sylva, Professor of Educational Psychology and Honorary Research Fellow at the University of Oxford’s Department of Education, and member of Yew Chung Community College (YCCC)’s Governing Council, recently visited Hong Kong and attended:

“A Dialogue with Professor Kathy Sylva”, hosted by Yew Chung Community College (YCCC), where she shared her insights with staff, students and ECE professionals (including senior executives, principals and senior teachers of renowned kindergartens), and

As one of the guest speakers on “Towards Quality Early Childhood Education” at the 10th Anniversary Conference of the Pacific Early Childhood Education Research Association in Hong Kong (PECERA-HK) on October 20, 2017, at Yew Chung International School (YCIS).

Throughout the years, Yew Chung has been a pioneer in implementing new approach on Early Childhood Education (ECE) and has gained recognition among the parents and the community. Yew Chung continues its research and authority in the field, by working with world class scholars such as Professor Sylva, on development in ECE. It further supports ECE by establishing YCCC, a college dedicated to nurturing ECE teaching professionals, Chor Hang Educational Research Institute (CHERI), as well as actively participate in research and conferences held by educational organizations such as PECERA.

Professor Sylva currently serves on the highest governing body of the YCCC, which became the first private institution in Hong Kong to provide formal teacher training in ECE in 2014. YCCC is in the process of being upgraded to a degree-awarding institution – the Yew Chung College of Early Childhood Education (YCCECE), which is aiming to launch its first flagship Bachelor of Education (Hons) in ECE degree programme in September 2018. Prof Sylva has been instrumental in shaping this new College, and actively participated in the College’s process in obtaining accreditation from the Authority.

Asked on what makes her so involved with Yew Chung’s initiatives, Professor Sylva replied,

“I have been involved with Yew Chung for over 30 years. What I found unique about them is this bi-lingual AND bi-cultural education. Many schools in HK can claim to be bi-lingual but only a few can say that the Chinese culture is part of the education.

I also like the fact that the school innovates its teaching methodologies with the current and upcoming trends. Their professors and staff members are sensitive to changes and they are willing to adapt their work, experiment new theories and share their knowledge in the educational community.”

Furthermore, Prof Sylva has significantly contributed to policy-making in HKSAR, most notably as an advisor to the Committee on Free Kindergarten Education, developing the policy on 15 years of free education, led by Mr. Moses Cheng (see press release: http://www.info.gov.hk/gia/general/201310/24/P201310230567.htm).

Quote from Dr Betty Chan Po-king, Chairperson and CEO of Yew Chung Education Foundation (YCEF), School Supervisor of YCIS, President of PECERA – HK and PECERA – International, “Celebrating Yew Chung’s 85th anniversary this year, we want to continue our pioneering spirit, building upon the legacy of our founder and my late mother, Madam Tsang Chor-hang, as well as furthering our contributions to the community through Early Childhood Education (ECE). Since the 1970’s, when I returned from my studies in the U.S., Yew Chung took the revolutionary step to introduce what were then radical concepts of play-based learning and child-centered approach in Hong Kong. Our innovative approach was soon widely recognized by parents and the community, and we became firmly established in the ECE sector.

Throughout the years, despite our expansion into primary and secondary schooling through YCIS, we never ceased our research and development in ECE, by actively engaging with world class scholars in the field, such as Professor Kathy Sylva of Oxford University. Professor Sylva has graciously supported our schools, including the Yew Chung Community College (YCCC, which is in the process of upgrading to a degree-awarding institution, specializing in ECE) and our newly established Chor Hang Educational Research Institute (CHERI). Professor Sylva, a longtime colleague and friend, has also been advising the HK government on Free Quality Kindergarten Education Scheme and sharing her expertise through public seminars organized by PECERA-HK.

Looking forward, we will continue to actively participate and contribute to the ECE field in Hong Kong and globally, through both our schools and college, as well as through research.”

BACK

英國資深幼兒教育翹楚 Kathy Sylva 教授解構優質幼兒教育

event-sylvia

世界知名學府牛津大學教育學院教育心理學教授及名譽研究員,並為耀中社區書院校董會成員的Prof Kathy Sylva 最近蒞臨香港,參與了兩場專為幼兒教育工作者而設的學術交流活動。

本月18日,書院舉辦了『與Professor Kathy Sylva對談』的學術研討活動,Professor Kathy Sylva這次親再臨書院,與各大幼稚園的校長、實習伙伴幼稚園管理層,以及書院的師生進行深度對談,從多角度探討幼兒教育的最新趨勢。她繼而出席本月20日舉行,並由教育局局長楊潤雄擔任主禮嘉賓的『太平洋區幼兒教育研究學會(香港分會)成立十週年誌慶』大型研討會,擔任其中的主講嘉賓。

耀中一直是推行幼兒教育的先驅,並得到了家長和社會的肯定。耀中多年來竭盡所能與世界頂尖的學者如Professor Kathy Sylva合作研究,完善幼兒教育課程。更通過成立耀中社區書院(YCCC),致力於培育幼兒教育專才,藉此改善教學質素。又成立楚珩教育研究機構(CHERI),並積極參與由太平洋區幼兒教育研究學會(PECERA)等教育機構舉辦的研究和會議,進一步支持幼兒教育發展。

Professor Kathy Sylva現為耀中社區書院校董會成員。始於2014年,書院是本港首間專門提供專業幼師培訓的自資院校。現時,耀中社區書院正積極準備『升格』工作,期望成為獲政府授權以頒發學士學位的耀中幼教學院 (YCCECE),於2018年9月正式為學生提供幼兒教育(榮譽)學士學位課程。Professor Kathy Sylva 於新學院的成立中擔當不可或缺的角色,她積極參與書院學士學位課程的評審。除了參與書院的未來發展工作外,亦不時透過演講、工作坊等形式與書院的師生交流,分享其在幼兒教育的經驗。

當被問及她為何如此積極參與耀中的發展,她表示:「我已經與耀中合作了三十多年。 我發現耀中的獨特之處在於那種雙語和雙文化教育。 香港許多學校都聲稱是雙語的,但只有少數可以做到東西文化融合於教學當中,而耀中是佼佼者。

我也喜歡其學校採用創新的教學方法應用於教學中,他們的教職員對教學的趨勢和社會的變化非常敏感,願意適應及配合,並且嘗試應用新的理論,並與業界分享成果。」

此外,Professor Kathy Sylva 亦對推動本港幼兒教育的政策發展上不遺餘力,最為業界人士熟悉的是她於香港政府成立之《免費幼稚園教育委員會》中所擔任顧問的角色(相關新聞稿可參閱:http://www.info.gov.hk/gia/general/201310/24/P201310230571.htm)。

耀中教育機構行政總裁、耀中國際學校校監及太平洋區幼兒教育研究學會香港分會與國際總部的會長陳保琼博士稱:「在慶祝耀中85週年的同時,希望繼續我們的開拓精神,延續創辦人和我已故的母親曾楚珩的遺願,通過幼兒教育貢獻社會。七十年代以來,當我從美國留學回港時,耀中走出革命性的一步,引入「以孩子為本」及「寓遊戲於學習」的新進教學理念,我們這套創新的教學法漸漸被家長和社會廣泛肯定,亦在幼兒教育界奠下基礎。」

她續稱:「多年來,儘管耀中已由幼兒教育擴展至小學和中學教育,但我們從未停止幼兒教育的研究和開發,並積極與全球幼兒教育界的精英合作,如牛津大學的Professor Kathy Sylva。非常欣喜獲得Professor Kathy Sylva對我們耀中社區學院及楚珩教育研究機構的鼎力支持。她不但是我們的友好,更一直為香港政府免費幼稚園教育計劃提供專業意見及不時與業界分享經驗。」

陳博士說:「展望未來,我們將繼續透過我們的學校和研究,積極參與和貢獻香港和全球的幼兒教育發展。」

返回