discovery-1
discovery-2
discovery-3
discovery-4
discovery-5
discovery-6
discovery-7

As part of YCECDC, we offer Hong Kong's first ever “Discovery Space” – a specialist play space on campus, designed for children and families from birth to 8, aiming to actively promote innovative best practices in ECE.

Through a wide array of uniquely designed innovative indoor and outdoor experiential learning activities, children and their caregivers can enjoy quality bonding time, exploring and learning through play, and making positive lifelong memories together. We hope to achieve this for all children in Hong Kong, regardless of socioeconomic background, ethnicity, individual abilities or other diverse needs.

Moreover, through interactive workshops, public seminars, and outreach programmes, we further aspire to contribute towards parent and community education, and Continuing Professional Development of ECE practitioners and leaders. The “Discovery Space” also provides additional placement opportunities for our YCCECE students, and functions like a research lab for faculty.

Centre Director’s Message

HAA_8629
Ms. Nicky Weir

Centre Director, Yew Chung Early Childhood Development Centre

Free to explore, free to express, free to create, free to connect, free to learn, and free to love – is our aim and hope here at YCECDC.

The most precious resource society has is its children. To treasure and grow this resource is to understand the responsibility we, each and every member of society, have in caring, nurturing, and responding with intention to the positive development and growth of our future generation. Creating an atmosphere and environment where each child, as well as their significant adults, can feel ‘free’ – free to explore, free to express, free to create, free to connect, free to learn, and free to love – is our aim and hope here at YCECDC.

Our ‘Discovery Space’ on the ground floor of the campus, uniquely designed by ECE experts and professional artists, aims to challenge, intrigue, and inspire young children through a wide array of innovative indoor and outdoor experiential learning activities or provocations. It will offer children and their caregivers – whether parents, grandparents or domestic helpers – quality opportunities to deepen bonding, explore and learn through play, and create positive lifelong memories together. We hope to achieve this for all children in Hong Kong, regardless of socioeconomic background, ethnicity, individual abilities or other diverse needs.

Through interactive workshops, public seminars, and outreach programmes, we further aspire to contribute towards parent and community education, and Continuing Professional Development of ECE practitioners and leaders.

Last but not least, through facilitating our faculty’s academic research, and providing additional placement opportunities for our YCCECE students, we strive to bridge the gap between research, policy, and practice. Thus fostering a deeper, more coherent and comprehensive understanding of Early Childhood Education.

Please stay tuned and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Discovery Space External Advisors

  • Anita Kumar

    Chief Operating Officer, Early Start, University of Wollongong, Australia

  • President Lee

    President of Seoul Early Childhood Education and Promotion Centre, South Korea

  • Dr. Yvonne Becher

    Acting Chief Executive / Director, Programme Development & Learning, Child Development Centre

  • Mr. Wong Wan Chung Joseph

    Service Supervisor, Infant Stimulation & Parent Effectiveness Training Service, Hong Kong Christian Service

discovery-1
discovery-2
discovery-3
discovery-4
discovery-5
discovery-6
discovery-7

耀中幼教發展中心銳意打造本港首個別具意義的探索空間—耀學園。耀學園專為0至8歲的嬰幼兒及其家長而設,希望透過邀請社區參與,宣揚耀中多年來秉持的幼教理念。

耀學園戶內及戶外學習環境的佈置富挑戰及啟發性,致力促進孩子及照顧者互相了解,寓學習於遊戲,並為家庭製造難忘的親子回憶。我們希望本港所有孩子不論他們的社經背景、種族、個人能力及其需要都能受惠於耀學園,共享平等學習及遊戲的機會。

透過互動工作坊、公眾研討會及外展計劃,耀中幼教發展中心亦希望不同持份者如家長、社區人士、幼教界領導及工作者的專業發展作出貢獻。另外,耀學園亦將會為學院學生提供額外的實踐及研究機會。

主任的話

Nicky
Ms. Nicky Weir

耀中幼教發展中心總監

盡情探索、表達、創造、連結、學習和愛,是耀中幼兒教育發展中心的目的及願景。

孩子是社會最寶貴的資源。我們每個人均有責任去珍惜及引發孩子的潛力,透過了解、關懷及培育下一代,引導他們正面發展及成長。幼兒教育發展中心的目的及願景,是營造令每位孩子及家長也能感覺到自由的環境及氣氛,令他們可以盡情探索、表達、創造、連結、學習和去愛。

耀學園位於校園地面一層,由幼教專家及藝術家特別設計,透過各式戶內及戶外學習體驗活動,挑戰及啟發孩子。耀學園能促進孩子及其照顧者(家長、祖父母、媬姆)互相了解和信任,探索和寓學習於遊戲,製造正向的终身難忘的親子回憶。不論社經背景、種族、個人能力或有其他需要,我們希望能為每一位香港孩子提供這樣的機會。

我們冀望透過互動工作坊、公眾研討會和外展計劃,推動家庭及社區教育,以及幼教工作者的持續專業發展。

我們同樣注重學術研究和為耀中幼教學院的準教師提供更多實習機會,令研究、政策及實踐可相輔相成,讓幼教專業人士可以更深入、更全面理解幼兒教育。

請密切留意我們的最新消息,期待與您見面!

耀學園校外顧問

  • Anita Kumar

    澳洲伍倫貢大學 Early Start 營運總監

  • 李敬姬院長

    南韓首爾幼兒教育進興院